WIP Weekend: The Re-cap

Four days ago, I made a bold claim in front of countless internet witnesses: I was going to get to serious grips with some WIPs over the long weekend.  My dress form was getting far too snooty, wearing my unfinished dress and cardigan and lording it over me at every opportunity.  Things had gone too far; something had to be done about it all.

On Friday, I formulated a plan of attack.

  1. Finish the dress.
  2. Start sewing the neckband on my cardigan.

On Saturday, my plan of attack suffered an enjoyable setback on the form of a day spent in the city with my writing group where I worked on yet another WIP: my NaNo novel from 2014.  It was such a brilliant day that the time positively flew and I didn’t realise how late it was until I was walking home from the train station and wondering why all the shops were closed so early.

It was 6pm.

I’d left the house at 8:30am that morning.

So on Sunday, things were pulled back on track.  Firstly, I whipped the dress off my dress form with a triumphant cry of delight.  This was the last time it would be gracing the mannequin’s body – it was taking one step closer to gracing my body instead.  Soon afterwards, I was crossing everything and hoping that the dregs of cotton on my sewing machine would allow me to complete the sewing of the waistband.  Another step closer!

This was followed by the ever exciting task of hand-stitching the lining down, which admittedly does give my imagination time to fly, but also provides my cats with an opportunity to sit on the very item I’m trying to sew.  When I wasn’t shoving cats off the table, I spent an inordinate amount of time worrying that I was pulling the lining too tight and causing ripples in the outside material.  If anyone has any tips on how to avoid this, I’m all ears.

Flush with the success of my newly-stitched lining, I moved on to my cardigan and finished sewing the neckband.  The cats were delighted by this, as it gave them the opportunity to try to sleep on an entirely different garment.  It turns out that sewing the neckband is the exact last thing I should have done, according to the instructions, but I never pay that much attention to making up instructions.  Well, I don’t now (apparently).  At this point, I remembered I hadn’t actually blocked the cardigan, so I’m now in the process of doing that.  This is when my cats’ propensity for sitting on everything comes in handy as it speeds up the drying process no end.  Plus, there’s a towel between them and the garment, which means a lot less fur filters through.

With this little speed hump introduced to the cardigan construction, I turned back to the dress and tweaked the side bits of the bodice so they sit properly.  Once I’ve sewn those in, all I need to do is wait for everything to settle so I can hem it.  It’s this close to being ready and I am on track for being able to wear it at another meeting of my writing group next weekend.

So I’m ahead on one of my goals and a little behind on the other, but I still made great strides.  The main thing is that my dress form has been deprived of its dress and is now in the process of thinking about its past behaviour.

How was everyone else’s weekend?  Did you get to grips with your WIPs, too?

14 thoughts on “WIP Weekend: The Re-cap

  1. Beth says:

    Yay well done for making some progress! I hope you’ll share the finished dress!
    I put what I was meant to be doing to one side and started sewing something else… Whoops!! But I did get back to it last night and I have a few days til my deadline….

    Like

    • Katie Writes Stuff says:

      I’ll definitely share the finished dress – and the cardigan, too. It shouldn’t be long now.

      It’s so easy to be distracted by different projects, isn’t it? It’s taking all of my willpower to resist the allure of starting a new cardigan before the old one is finished… I’m sure you’ll get your project done in plenty of time! It’s not even the last minute yet. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Tess says:

    Yay to your finished dress and almost finished neckband! 😀
    However, this confirms what I have suspected for a very long time. The weekends are far too short and should be extended to another 24 hours. Then finishing scheduled plans should be a piece of cake. Right?

    Uhm, well…my Spring cleaning plans are coming along nicely, perhaps at a slightly slower rate than anticipated, but I am getting there. At least I have another couple of weekends before my aunt, uncle and cousin turn up for a visit. The floor will be meticulously swept, all leatherware polished and shiny, grooming tools cleaned and walls will be free from all cobweb and dust. I’d better get cracking…

    Like

    • Katie Writes Stuff says:

      Even long weekends are too short! I’m starting to think my idea of a three-day weekend and a four-day work week should be reversed. Everyone would be so much happier!

      The slower speed of your Spring cleaning is perfectly understandable: it must be a lot less enjoyable than my sewing plans! As long as everything’s done before your visitors arrive, you should be fine. And if you steal some time for more enjoyable pursuits, then that will simply put you in a better mood when you get back to cleaning. This is flawless logic. 😀

      Like

      • Tess says:

        So true. At least the leather soap is purchased so I am about to take on the leatherware this weekend. At least it is warm and cosy in the tack room which means the cats are most happy to join me, leaving furry traces on the saddle cloths. Oh, and there is a radio from the early 80’s which means cassette decks…;) But at least it is functioning okay.

        Just curious, but we will see the dress on you instead of the dress form within shortly, right? 🙂

        Like

        • Katie Writes Stuff says:

          Yes! The finishing touches must be completed by Saturday at the very latest because I came up with a plan for my sewing year. Essentially, I just gave myself a much sterner deadline.

          It’s good to know I’m not the only one who plays cassette tapes! That’s all we have in our car, so we’re constantly looking for interesting tapes in op shops.

          Liked by 1 person

  3. leeyongsoo says:

    I didn’t even have a cat to bother me this weekend and I still didn’t get anything done! Your sewing sounds a lot more professional than mine, I never hang things to let the hem settle or I would get even LESS done…

    Like

    • Katie Writes Stuff says:

      Heh, ‘professional’ is the last word I’d use to apply to my sewing, but I’m glad it gives the impression of being so. It’s entirely possible I use the hanging and settling process as an excuse to procrastinate a little. Just a little.

      Like

  4. Dianne says:

    Well done with the sewing progress! As for my weekend – a family fishing trip on Sunday ( took some hand sewing to do, but it was a bit too breezy for outdoor sewing, so had to give up. And I managed to lose my little travel scissors somewhere on the river bank); visit to family on the other side of town on Monday ( not to windy so did manage to get a fair bit of hand sewing done). Other than that… the cheescake was delicious!

    Like

    • Katie Writes Stuff says:

      That’s good news on the sewing front, but sad about your scissors. I lost my travel pair for ages and it drove me crazy – I did find them a few months later (between two parts of our modular couch) but not before I’d had to buy another pair.

      Cheesecake sounds like a great idea. It would certainly provide the fuel for some more crafting!

      Like

Leave a comment and earn bonus points!

