Making Plans

It’s that time of year where people start making rash promises about getting fit or climbing the nearest convenient mountain.  Everything’s fresh and new and there’s the whiff of potential in the air.  Why, we could do anything!  Well, within reason.  For some reason, running away to live a life on the road with two cats and a Chef with an internet gaming addiction is seen to be impractical, if only because there’d be a lot of camping involved.

I am by no means immune to this desire to create a fresh start and, given that several weeks of freedom remain between me and my return to work, I have plenty of time in which to get to grips with this new, improved me.  Or a new, organised me because I don’t like to make resolutions: I make plans.  Preferably with little ticky boxes next to them.

Of course, I also take photos in order to illustrate said plans.

Making Plans

Taken at face value, we can discern from this image that I plan to knit, play scrabble, wind wool into balls, eat cinnamon, make a vintage skirt and scout about for apparently elusive good ideas.  Which comes close, I’ll admit (otherwise my symbolic photography would have failed completely).  For good measure, however, here’s a more accurate list of my plans for the year ahead.

  1. Knit all of the things.
  2. Play lots of games with the Chef (not Scrabble, sadly, as I’m far too competitive at it).
  3. Be a better friend.  Sometimes, I don’t talk to people because I assume I’ll just be a bother, but I have to stop that.
  4. Hunt down the rest of that Nylex spice canister set.  Seriously, how cute is it?  It was a Christmas present from my mum – she found it in an op shop for a whole 10c.  We still don’t know why it features an apparent Mexican fellow.
  5. Sew as many clothes as possible and start using some of my op shopped patterns.
  6. Finish the book I started writing for NaNoWriMo 2014.
  7. Start thinking about Christmas presents around June.  I want to make as many things as possible, so this would seem the opportune time to begin that process.
  8. Develop my photography skills.  This year, I’d like to work on some wide angle photography.
  9. Discover some favourite recipes to put in that stripy notebook.  If you know me, you know I do not like cooking, but it seems I’m good at it, especially baking.  The Chef can continue cooking our meals, but I’ll bake the cakes.
  10. Keep this blog well-fed with posts!

That seems pretty manageable to me.  Plus, if I follow through with Plans 1-9, then Plan 10 should be a piece of cake.

What’s on your list for 2015?  Let me know in the comments below!

15 thoughts on “Making Plans

  1. Alex - Project Lady says:

    Hi 🙂

    My last post about why resolutions do not work might be interesting for you…
    http://my35project.com/2015/01/01/why-new-years-resolutions-do-not-work-but-goals-do/

    You can also find my progress to get out my shitty life 🙂
    http://my35project.com/2015/01/01/this-is-called-progress-in-2-weeks/

    You may think about starting your own project
    http://my35project.com/start-yours-now/

    Or, it would be so much appreciated if you support mine by following, commenting and giving advice 🙂
    http://my35project.com/about/

    Thank you so much 🙂
    Successful & Healthy New Year 🙂

    Alex

    Like

  2. Rebecca says:

    You know that I too love making lists! It’s a huge sense of satisfaction to cross things out (or in my case, put an emphatic tick in a box next to it).

    My resolution should be to update my own blog more often (how has it been like 2 months already since my last post?)

    Like

    • Katie Writes Stuff says:

      Ticky boxes are the best. Honestly, I think there’s no point to lists if there aren’t little ticky boxes next to every item. Tick; done!

      I know of a couple of people who have their blog one of their goals for the year, so you’d be in good company! It’s surprising how quickly time can pass without your even noticing it.

      Like

  3. Flit says:

    Fuck that. I don’t have capacity for it to be a new year. My house is filled to the brim with DIY shit for the wedding. At the moment I’m currently an emoticon on fire running backwards and forwards in front of my couch.
    The shitty thing is I do have lots of ideas for this year, I’ve just gotta get my arse through March first.

    Like

    • Katie Writes Stuff says:

      What actually happened between October and now? I swear, I don’t recall any of those months actually happening. Hopefully time will slow down a bit, at least enough to let you prepare to survive your wedding. 😀

      Ah, msn. I miss it and its crazy emoticons. HBOL and the smiley on fire running around a couch were pretty much the best things ever.

      Like

  4. Tess says:

    Long, time no see! Well, after my how shall I put it, psychological gap year with a fair bit of soul searching,I am returning to Mother Earth.
    I was slightly surprised to read your list of plans as mine pretty much is a copy of it. These are my plans, in random order.
    1. Definitely being a better friend as from now on. I have been far too self-absorbed to see people around me.
    2. Getting fit. Actually I have already started. Apart from horse riding, I keep the pulse up by walking. A lot. I follow this walking programme and by using Runkeeper, it is actually quite fun.
    3. Travel more. I love travelling, seeing new places and faces. I am going to Göteborg next week, I’d say that’s a step in the right direction.
    4. Take a lot of pictures and buy a new lens, 18-135 mm perhaps to get better shots from a distance.
    5. Work on a relationship and determine whether we should be mates or partners. We’re currently stuck in the middle on that one, so to speak.
    6. Find the self confidence to get back on the competition track again. I have a horse capable enough, so why shouldn’t I?
    7. A trip to Australia seems to be on a every list and it is about time to do something about it! Especially as one of my friends wants to see the scene locations where Cell Block H were shot. I just wanna hug a very dear friend of mine. 🙂
    8. Finding the ONE. I am referring to the tea mug, obviously. I have sought but I haven’t found it yet. You know, a BIG mug which make the content taste like a bit of heaven.
    9. As opposed to you, I love cooking but I am useless when it comes to baking. It turns out messy, sticky and the result is never the same as in the pictures. Not to mention my foul mood that comes with it….
    10. Shape up and get a new job!

    I probably should start looking for Christmas prezzies in June too, but that’s never going to happen, right?

    Like

    • Katie Writes Stuff says:

      Welcome back! 😀

      I love your list of plans, especially a couple towards the end. It would be so amazing to see you again, since it has been roughly forever since your last visit here (quite understandable, given I live in a country that is a million miles away from anywhere). And, oh, number 8. That should be on my list, too. For a while there, I had the perfect tea mug – just the right size in a cheerful deep orange – but I lost it far too soon and I have yet to find a replacement. Here’s hoping we both find that ONE this year.

      Like

      • Tess says:

        Thank you! 😀
        I am sorry to hear about the mug, it is such a waste when it happens and I am quite adamant that the hot beverage does not taste the same in an ordinary mug. I would love one in bright orange, it is a warm colour and it sure cheers you up.

        I am going to practically live on baked beans and noodles this year to be able to come and see you again. And your lovely parents. And the Chef too of course. Sometimes, this country feels like it is located on another planet, speaking of distance. I just have to fuel up the spacecraft and I’ll be with you.

        We’ll find the ONE this year. I have a pretty good gut feeling about it.

        Love,
        Tess

        Like

  5. Tess says:

    Haha, yeah, you’d better stock up on Lamingtons. 🙂 My plan is to hang around for a couple of weeks (at the very least three) and the horses are welcome to stay at a friend’s farm and the cats are being well looked after here. I bet we’ll do a lot of fun stuff so I won’t have time to miss them much. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment and earn bonus points!

