If It’s A New Year, There’ll Be Sparklers

In my roadtripping diary, you’ll find this quote from the very first day of 2007:

Sparklers on the beach. The windy beach.  Fun when we got them lit after ten minutes or so (and after building windbreaks of sand).

Many things have changed since that year kicked off (almost eight years ago – how did that even happen?) but my love of sparklers at New Years has remained constant.  Then again, it’s difficult not to like sparklers, isn’t it?  They have an ability to render otherwise reasonably grown-up people into delighted children for as long as it takes for the sizzling halo of light to run its course.  And then you light another.  And maybe one more, because there’s something mesmerising about drawing fleeting shapes of light in the dark sky.

The other day, we just happened to be wandering past what was apparently the sparkler section of the supermarket.  “Oooh, sparklers!” I may or may not have exclaimed (I did).  “Actually, I want to try some long exposure photography with sparklers.”  The next thing I knew, the Chef had piled a whole bunch of sparkler packets into our basket and had to be restrained from adding more.

I’m not sure how many photos he thought I wanted to take, but at least we’re well equipped for about the next ten New Yearses, as well as any emergency lighting situations in which we don’t have access to candles.

At least one of the packets will be heading to the Failboats’* belated New Years celebration, but several of them have been sacrificed in the name of indulging in that clichéd standby of long exposure photography: drawing shapes with sparklers.  We all have to do it at least once, right?

I started with something simple:

Sparkler Star

And then I moved on to writing, which met with minimal success.  Still, if you squint and move you head just so, I think you’ll see I’ve written ‘2015’ below.  There’s no doubt about the circle I’ve drawn around it, though.  That’s a definite success.

New Year 2015

Here’s to a bright and sparkly 2015 for us all!  I’m not sure how 2014 managed to slip away so quickly, but I hope we can all hold on to 2015 and make into something special.  Happy New Year!

 

 

* If you’re new here and don’t know who the Failboats are, stay tuned – there’ll be more on them later this month.

4 thoughts on “If It’s A New Year, There’ll Be Sparklers

  1. Flit says:

    I was about to race down here to write BRING THEM WITH YOU I’LL HELP but then read the next sentence when you assured that they will be coming to the Failboats gathering. 😀
    Also, until you pointed out that last photo was supposed to say “2015” I honestly thought it was a slightly okay LOV with a slightly at odds E. Maybe we’ll need to help you with that one…

    Like

    • Katie Writes Stuff says:

      You should have seen the ones that didn’t make it! I think the trick is to plan how you’ll do it instead of just winging it – I think I could make a pretty good go of it now, having thought about the path I’d take. But it would definitely help to have a whole bunch of people doing one number or letter each. There’s definitely some potential for Failboats sparkler photos here. 😀

      Like

Leave a comment and earn bonus points!

