Vlog Time: Failing NaNoWriMo

We all know about NaNoWriMo, right?  That crazy time of year (known to normal people as ‘November’) when people around the world decide to write a 50,000 word novel in thirty days?  Yeah, that.  For the last two years, I’ve decided that it’s a thing that should happen to me.

Last year, it happened successfully, despite the fact I decided join in one third of the way through November.

This year, it wasn’t quite as successful, despite starting right at the beginning of the month.  So I could be annoyed by this and disappointed at my failure and this would seem to be an appropriate reaction, something along the lines of the feelings I experience when I go to take a sip of my tea and realise that I’ve drunk it all without noticing.

“I’ve failed NaNoWriMo!” I declared to all and sundry, which resulted in roughly ten percent understanding nods and ninety percent bewildered looks.

And then I thought about it.  In spite of one migraine, full-time work, several clarinet lessons, four four-hour band rehearsals, one friend’s music concert, a barbeque with the in-laws and extra rehearsals for Maroondah Carols, I managed to write 45,000 words of a story that has pretty much hijacked my imagination.  And that doesn’t feel like failing after all.

So I did the logical thing and made a vlog about it.

Note the actually-not-that-bad freeze frame there.  This never happens.  Actually, all three freeze frame options looked OK, which I think is a world first for YouTube.

Did anyone else ‘fail’ NaNo this year?  How did you go?  Share your faily achievements here with me!

 

Further Reading Viewing

You can watch my first NaNoWriMo video here.

4 thoughts on “Vlog Time: Failing NaNoWriMo

Leave a comment and earn bonus points!

